Key Stages Explained

There are three key stages within the Academy. We believe collaboration is a key ingredient for success therefore staff work collaboratively to ensure the best possible outcomes for each individual child.

Key Stages



Foundation Stage

Nursery and Reception

3 – 5 Years

Key Stage One

Year 1 and Year 2

5 – 7 Years

Key Stage Two

Lower KS2

Year 3 and Year 4

7 – 9 Years

Upper KS2

Year 5 and Year 6

9 – 11 Years

Foundation Stage

In the Early Years Foundation Stage children enjoy a rich, immersive and engaging learning environment where they can explore, experiment and investigate both indoors and outdoors. The quality of a child’s early experience is vital for their future success. We provide high-quality early education where all children take part in a wide range of hands on and practical learning experiences on a 1-1, in small groups and in large groups.

Continuous provision in the Foundation Stage is where children are allowed to choose where they want to learn through play. During this time, activities are set up both indoors and outdoors for the children to access, both independently and with an adult. All activities are based upon the children’s next steps in learning ensuring that children are challenged and their learning is moved forward. There are high quality interactions with children during planned and child-initiated play activities. Practitioners model language, show, explain, demonstrate, question, encourage, facilitate, and stimulate children throughout the day.

Children are assessed throughout the Foundation using the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. The children are assessed against expected outcomes at different developmental ages, through on-going observations. These observations identify children’s interests and next steps, which are then used for planning daily, weekly and informing our topics. A topics length is determined by the children and their interests. At the end of the Early Years children are assessed against the 17 Early Learning Goals. If they have met the goals they achieve ‘Expected’, if they are still working in the developmental stages they are said to be ‘Emerging’, or if they are working beyond the goals they are ‘Exceeding’. Children who achieve expected or exceeding in the first 12 goals are said to have achieved a ‘Good Level of Development’.

Key Stage One

Children leave the Foundation Stage and begin a whole new, challenging curriculum. Children will now follow the National Curriculum in the Autumn Term of Year 1. Children in Year one and Year two follow Milestone 1 of the Chris Quigley assessment system of the National Curriculum.

 Year 1

 Learning becomes more structured and challenging in Year 1 and continuous provision is phased out and the skills that are developed from this transfer in to National Curriculum subjects.

 At the end of Year 1, the school will conduct a statutory Phonics Screen Check. The check will take place in June and your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. This will inform future planning and interventions in reading and decoding words. If your child needs a little more help they will opportunity to sit the check again in Year 2.

Year 2

Following Year 1, children now access a more structured way. Year two children access all areas of the National Curriculum. Children are encouraged to be independent learners through a variety of learning methods.

 At the end of Year 2, children sit the statutory assessments in reading, writing and maths. These levels currently give the baseline to measure progress over Key Stage Two.

 Key Stage Two

From Year 3 to Year 6, children access the National Curriculum for their age range. We, at Eastfield, follow the Chris Quigley assessment system and children go through two milestones in Key Stage 2. Children in Key Stage 2 access the same subjects as Key Stage One except KS2 children have a weekly French lesson with Madame Fleming.

 Our timetable at Eastfield is flexible and literacy and numeracy skills can be taught at any point in the school day and has no specific timings. We believe flexibility in the timetable allows learning to flow naturally to capture children’s engagement and excitement.

 In literacy, children follow the ‘Talk for Writing’ method for writing. They follow a process of text interrogation, imitation and then creation of their own – most of which is done collaboratively and in a variety of learning approached. We encourage children to write creatively and purposefully and not for writing for the sake of writing. We use Assertive Mentoring programme and tailor learning to the children’s needs by assessing, plan, do and then review cycle to ensure gaps in understanding are plugged.

 Numeracy is taught through skills and application approach. At the beginning of a unit of work, a mini assessment will take place to ascertain gaps in understanding and learning is designed around the areas children need to work on. These skills are then developed in a practical or investigative way to concrete understanding and can be built upon next time.

 In foundation subjects, children are set in to mixed ability groups and work collaboratively to achieve the same goal or to answer one learning question. Through working collaboratively, children gain their own independence in their work and demonstrate the pride to work as part of a team. Children in KS2 gear the learning to their interests and develop their own enquiry skills. Often, children research independently and scaffold their own learning through collaboration and understanding of the needs of the group.



Translate »

Follow this blog

Get every new post delivered right to your inbox.

Email address